FATF: Jurisdictions under Increased Monitoring – October 2021

FATF: Jurisdictions under Increased Monitoring – October 2021

Periodically, the FATF publishes a list of countries of which strategical AML/CFT/CPF shortcomings have been identified. Whenever the FATF places a jurisdiction under increased monitoring, it means that the country has committed itself to mitigate the identified shortcomings within a certain timeframe. Within this timeframe, the country will be subject to increased monitoring by the FATF or the FSRBs.

In its public statement of October 2021, the following countries have been added to the list of countries that are subject to increased monitoring: Jordan, Mali, and Turkey. Countries that are no longer under increased monitoring are Botswana and Mauritius.

The following countries had their progress reviewed since June 2021: Albania, Barbados, Botswana, Cambodia, Cayman Islands, Jamaica, Malta, Mauritius, Morocco, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Panama, Philippines, Senegal, Uganda, and Zimbabwe.

Although enhanced due diligence is not required, the FATF calls on jurisdictions to consider this information in their risk analysis.

The FATF statement on jurisdictions under increased monitoring is provided in the following link:

Documents – Financial Action Task Force (FATF) (fatf-gafi.org)